On October 9-10, 2017, with the support of Kyiv-Mohyla School of Journalism, ZEIT Stiftung (Germany) and Fritt Ord (Norway) hosted the Free Media Awards 2017 at the Academy.

This year’s awards were given to Russian journalist Anton Naumliuk, Russian cartoonist Sergei Yolkin, journalist from Armenia Zarui Mejlumyan, and Azerbaijani project Meydan TV.

During the conference, this year’s winners and laureates of previous years, journalists, and media experts from Germany, Norway, Ukraine, Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Russia discussed the issues related to restrictions of freedom of press. Among the topics raised during the discussion were the difficulties investigative journalists face in their work, the impact the annexation of Crimea and war in the Donbas region had on the media environment, nonpartisan stance of media and the adherence to professional standards of journalism. The Free Media Awards are given every year by the Zeit-Stiftung Ebelin and Gerd Bucerius (Germany) and Fritt Ord (Norway) to journalists and the media from Eastern Europe for professional reporting and willingness to challenge censorship. Journalists from Azerbaidjan, Belarus, Armenia, Georgia, Russia and Ukraine can be nominated for the award.

Photo credit: Vitaly Hrabar
2004-2016 © Kyiv Mohyla Foundation Top